Ford to announce his inner circle

Picks for the chair of city hall committees and members of the executive committee expected at 3 p.m. press conference

Mayor elect Rob Ford is expected to announce his choices for the chairs of the major city hall committees and the appointments to the powerful executive committee during a press conference scheduled for 3 p.m.

Expected among the nominees are Ward 16 councillor Karen Stintz as TTC chair, Ward 34’s Denzil Minnan-Wong as chair of the Public Works and Infrastructure committee, Ward 17’s Cesar Palacio as chair of the Licensing and Standards committee, Ward 5’s Peter Milczyn as chair of the Planning and Growth Management committee, former Etobicoke mayor and Ward 3 councillor Doug Holyday as Deputy mayor, Ward 39’s Mike Del Grande as Budget chief, former York mayor and Ward 11 councillor Frances Nunziata as Speaker, Ward 26’s John Parker as Deputy Speaker, Ward 43’s Paul Ainslie as chair of the Government Management committee,Ward 40’s Norm Kelly as chair of the Parks and Environment committee, Ward 7’s Giorgio Mammoliti as chair of the Community Development and Recreation committee and Ward 37’s Michael Thompson as chair of the Economic Development committee.

The chairs of all the standing committees will also serve on the executive committee along with several councillors to be appointed at-large.

All of Ford’s council committee and chair appointments will go to city council when it meets Dec. 7 and 8 for final approval.

About this article:

By: Town Crier Staff
Posted: Nov 29 2010 12:55 pm
Filed in: NEWS
Edition: Toronto