What does a Ford win mean for Toronto: Mihevc

[attach]2604[/attach]Joe Mihevc was re-elected in St. Paul’s Ward 21 Monday but the mood at his victory party was tempered by a Ford mayoral win.

Mihevc won 9,824 votes and celebrated his win with family, friends and supporters at the Hungarian House on St. Clair Avenue West.

Mihevc, who was first elected in 1991, said he had mixed feelings over Monday night’s results.

Jubilant that he had easily re-captured his council seat, one he’s represented since 1991, Mihevc said he was apprehensive about Ford’s mayoral win and the inevitable change that’s coming to city hall.

“We have to figure out what Rob Ford’s victory means for us,” he said, adding it will take a while for the dust to settle among council to realize Ford is now mayor of Toronto.

Mihevc is a left-leaning candidate supported George Smitherman for mayor in an effort to keep Rob Ford from winning the top job.

Ford was elected mayor with 47.03 per cent of the vote.

Reaction at the community hall was pretty tepid Monday night as supporters reacted to Ford being elected as Toronto’s newest mayor.

“I’m happy Mihevc was elected but I didn’t want Rob Ford to win,” Marta Calderon said.

In 2006, Mihevc won with 8,096 votes while strong competitors former mayor John Sewell won 3,326 votes and former city councillor John Adams won 2,713 ballots.

Mihevc has served as vice-chair of the TTC and taken some heat over cost overruns on the St. Clair right-of-way that runs through the ward.

Aside from the right-of-way, Mihevc’s biggest project to date has been the Wychwood Artscape Barns, an artist and community-run venue on Christie Street.

Second place candidate Shimmy Posen in the local St. Paul’s race got 5,328 votes.

“I think it is a basic example of the power of an incumbent,” Posen said. “Name recognition is really out there.”

Posen said he ran a good, solid campaign, and would consider running for public office again in the future.

Peter Nolan, Marius Frederick, Alex Freedman and Beth McLellan also ran for councillor of Ward 21.