Stintz a candidate for North Toronto arena board

3 from business community also recommended by panel

Former Ward 16 councillor Karen Stintz is one of four new candidates for positions on the North Toronto Memorial Arena board.

Stintz was recommended, along with public relations firm owner Gordon Ashworth, wholesaler Tim Aikenhead and funeral home president Alan Crawford, by the city’s Forest Hill, Leaside and North Toronto Arena nominating panel on April 30.

The panel, which includes current Ward 16 councillor Christin Carmichael Greb and Ward 26 councillor Jon Burnside, also recommended candidates to fill positions on the boards at Larry Grossman Forest Hill Memorial Arena and Leaside Memorial Arena. The recommendations will need to be approved by North York Community Council on June 16.

Greb said in a statement the four recommended candidates for the 174 Orchard View Rd. arena in North Toronto “demonstrate a commitment to community development, a wide range of business and professional experiences (and) a knowledge of the programs and activities in the area.”

“I look forward to working with the board to support the successful operation of the arena,” she said.

Under city guidelines, one half of an arena’s board is replaced every year, so that each member serves a two-year term. After serving their term, former board members are welcome to apply again.

If approved, Aikenhead’s and Crawford’s terms would end on Dec. 31, 2016. Stintz’s and Ashworth’s terms would end on Nov. 30, 2018.

The returning members of the seven-member North Toronto Memorial Arena board, which the panel also recommended for appointment, include Gillian Jagasia, Graham Lloyd and Janice Mitchell.

The six candidates recommended for the board serving Larry Grossman Forest Hill Memorial Arena, at 340 Chaplin Cres., include Jaimie Grossman, co-founder and director of the Larry Grossman Foundation for Kids; real estate manager Allen Schacht, business owner Jayne Miles Simpson, Leonard Freed and lawyers Donald Greenbaum, Neil Linden and Ashley Metallo.

The nine nominees in Leaside are retired banking and finance professional Cheryl Bannier, volunteer Ann Brown, financial marketer Julie Brown, tourism consultant Jeff Dover, investor Adam Gordon, graphic designer Janice Ivory-Smith, sales manager John Masterson, educator Elaine Snider and executive Raymond White.

About this article:

Posted: May 17 2015 9:33 pm
Filed in: NEWS