Leaside Sports Hall of Fame seeks nominees

Organization opens its doors for the Class of 2016

The Leaside Sports Hall of Fame is looking for a few good nominees.

For its fourth year, the non-profit organization is asking Leasiders, and those connected to the community, for their stories of sports excellence.

Co-chairs Roanne Argyle and Tim Wright are coordinating the event for their first time. Argyle said she is hopeful people will visit the Hall’s website to submit their nominations via the available form, or via email.

Applicants don’t have to pick a homegrown Leasider either, they can pick a coach, builder or volunteer who has touched those in the community and who have left a legacy.

“Those are the kind of stories we’re hoping people will help us tell,” Argyle said. “If there is a legacy that has been left in the Leaside community, we want to hear about it.”

Last year’s 2015 class included former Leaside Atom Baseball Association president Norm Ahier, Toronto Maple Leafs legend George (The Chief) Armstrong, women’s hockey stalwart Annie Fahlenbock, sporting polymath Pat Friesen, and former Canadian Amateur Basketball Association president Arthur Irwin.

The class had great stories, Argyle said, adding that her face hurt from smiling so much from the induction ceremony.

“It’s such a great celebratory atmosphere when people come together to honour the great work that people have achieved in and from our community,” she said. “It’s only going to be as successful as the nominations that we get.”

There are currently 19 members in the Leaside Sports Hall of Fame. The nominations deadline is June 3.

About this article:

Posted: May 16 2016 4:08 pm
Filed in: NEWS  Sports
Edition: Toronto